Launch Event on Nonviolent Approaches to Security

 

We are happy to announce the September 29, 2022 launch event for the Special Issue collaboration of our Peace Science Digest together with Nonviolent Peaceforce

What Do Safety & Security Mean to You?
Nonviolent Approaches to Security: Perspectives from Communities Around the World

* * *

Sign up here: https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZwuduyvrjwrHNHRpAVGMSiuepOCc67buhki

Sep 29, 2022 09:00 AM in Central Time (US and Canada)

* * *
If not military intervention (or militarized policing) when civilians are being threatened by violence, then what? You are invited to learn how communities are answering this question around the world, featuring:

✱ Sunday Stephen, National Protection Officer with Nonviolent Peaceforce in Juba, South Sudan
✱ Ryan Nakade, Mediator, facilitator, and consultant for the Cure-PDX project in the Pacific Northwest, U.S.
✱ Facilitated by Marna Anderson, Director of Nonviolent Peaceforce U.S.

We are proud to present this conversation as we launch Peace Science Digest’s next special issue in collaboration with Nonviolent Peaceforce!

This issue focuses on nonviolent, civilian-led strategies for protection and violence prevention in various violent contexts, ranging from civil war and intercommunal violent conflict to urban gun violence. Drawing attention to these nonviolent approaches to security provision provides a crucial response to the question: If not military intervention (or militarized policing) when civilians are being threatened by violence, then what?

Take a glance at these related resources:
https://linktr.ee/psdxnp_specialissue

September 29, 2022

10:00 – 11:30 EDT
14:00 – 15:30 UTC
16:00 – 17:30 CAT

Sign up here: https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZwuduyvrjwrHNHRpAVGMSiuepOCc67buhki